New Fodera, For Real!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by funkycarnivore, May 16, 2002.

1. I even have pictures! Mine has tone controls though, and I don't really play jazz.
  2. Smokin'. Not sure I like the pickup placement, but that top is jizzworthy.
  3. Very nice! Love that buckeye top!

Kinda odd pickup placement - How does it sound?

4. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000

(did you sell the MTD and Reverend?)
  5. Fodera normally uses 70's J pickup positions, but this one has the pickups where they would be on a P and an MM. Pretty good idea, methinks. String spacing is narrow at the nut, with full spacing at the bridge. Perfect for me. Man! When I started playing this, I kept giggling like a schoolgirl. I traded an MTD, Wal, and a Lull P Bass for this thing and it was definitely worth it.
  6. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Nice. Congrats.

What's up with the B string tuner choice, though?
  7. adrian garcia

adrian garcia

Apr 9, 2001
    las vegas. nevada
    Endorsing Artist: Nordy Basses, Schroeder Cabs, Gallien Krueger Amps
    that's Fodera extended b peg head- it keeps the strings as straight as possible- it's really fun at tuning time!!
    congrats, funky!! beautiful!!
  8. Nice looking bass funky. Foderas really do look classy. That was a lot of basses to trade up, though. What would the Fodera be worth in $s, roughly?

9. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

Ooooooh, congrats from me too! I also love the pickup placement.

I do believe the *theory* is that additional string length between nut and tuning peg improves flexibility/intonation of the B string (obviously tension remains the same). It's more critical for the B because of that string's higher mass.
  10. adrian garcia

adrian garcia

Apr 9, 2001
    las vegas. nevada
    Endorsing Artist: Nordy Basses, Schroeder Cabs, Gallien Krueger Amps
    oh, fuzzbass, you're such a showoff!!!!!:rolleyes: