Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new forum member needs advice, vents frustration (LONG)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Darth_Linux, Jan 27, 2003.

1. Darth_Linux

Darth_Linux

Oct 12, 2002
    Spokane, WA
    Hi fellow bassists:

I'm a newer forum member, haven't really posted much, just been reading a lot. There is such a variety of experience here that I felt it appropriate to ask for guidance from a wide variety of musicians and see what you all come up with.

Please excuse the longness of this post - I'm really frustrated and need to vent/rant for a while to get it off my chest. Hopefully you can offer me some good advice.

First a brief introduction and explanation.

I've been playing electric bass for 16 years, played in lots of bands, recorded CDs, went on tours, done session work alot, and I currently teach private lessons as a major source of my income in addition to the occasional gig as a sub. All the usual stuff, nothing note worthy. I'm a damn good bassist, but due to circumstance, life choices, so on and so forth I'm bassically a big fish in a miniscule pond. that's ok, I don't play for the recognition.

Due to more life changes and circumstances somewhat out of my control I've gone back to college and now find myself playing double bass. I played it once before for about 6 months (10 years ago) but quit because a) it hurt my right hand, b) I didn't like the snobs in the college orchestra I was in c) didn't plan on pursuing music at the college level to get a performance degree or whatever. I was gonna play electric in rock bands and make millions . . . or something like that.