1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New French Bow

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by pizzicato16, Feb 24, 2008.

1. pizzicato16

pizzicato16

Jan 24, 2008
    Baltimore
    I am studying upright in college, mostly jazz nowadays, but I would like a bow that is good enough to really make my bass sing when I bow it. I like big, heavy French bows, and I certainly don't want fiberglass. I don't really know what wood to look for or anything like that. I can spend up to $700. I would appreciate any advice I can get.

2. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    A friend of mine in Philly has a nice old, very old French bow with an oversized Frog. I think it might be either made in Germany or a custom order made in France. Either way, its a heavy bow of good quality over 150-160 grams.

He just bought a lighter older french pedigree bow and asked me advice on selling it. I suggested Ebay but this was just about a week ago. If interested, PM me and I will try and get you in contact with him. He is a Philly area freelance professional Bassist.

3. Bass Barrister

Bass Barrister

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago
    Pizz. 16,

I don't how you define "big" and "heavy" bows, but I would suggest considering a Ken Smith C. Loveri bow. Excellent quality and well under $700. My C. Loveri weighs 146 grams and is just a tad shorter than my somehwat lighter unbranded German-made bow. Although a bit heavier, I prefer Ken's bow in terms of balance and response. Ken's bows come in a variety of weights and I would suggest you contact him.

4. pizzicato16

pizzicato16

Jan 24, 2008
    Baltimore