New guy around here.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by onadowner, May 24, 2001.

1. onadowner

May 23, 2001
    Heya folks, my name's Dimity, 20yrs old, I'm no pro but hey.....

Anyhow I play mostly 5 string basses....Jazz, Metal and a little bit of softer stuff.... I've been playing for only a little while, but I'm in a band called MuvBloated and another forming band called PiG...anyhow enough about me. So hey, nice to me ya.

Oh and to break the bread, like I said I'm still in my early playing years, so take it easy on me......:)

Okay, here's my question....I'm thinking of getting a new bass soon, what do you think about the Ibanez Soundgear line? I'm not a big guy so the smaller neck is of interest to me, what about it's sound. I'm looking into the SR305 and SR405 models, and not looking to spend a big deal of money. Any advice on other brands or models in the $400-$600 range is welcomed also. Later.
  2. David-Adler

Feb 28, 2001
    Bonn, Germany

don`t go with the Soundgear Low-End Line. Floppy B-Strings, weak pickups and a bad EQ. I would rahter look into the american and mexican fender J`s.

Or maybe the Squier P-Bass Special 5. Great Bass ..

3. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Soundgears are bad, mmkay? ;)
    Other 5-stringers in the $400-$600 range? From the top of my head:

Yamaha RBX765A
    Yamaha BBG5S
    Yamaha BBN5
    Schecter AB5
    Hamer Cruise CRV
    MTD K5
    Spector NS2000/Q5
    Ibanez BTB 405 (much better than any Soundgear, they say)
    Ibanez EDB605
    Tobias Toby Pro
    Dean Edge
    Cort Curbow

And there's plenty more. This is just for new basses - if you look at the used market, you have even more basses to choose from.
  4. barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    as always i suggest you to go with the used market, you could afford a great bass. and first of all try to understand what you really want from your new bass. i'm not a big fan of ibanez soungear too. you could find better.
  5. CS

Dec 11, 1999