New Guy..First Post ..Need Help!!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by KlarkKent, Dec 17, 2001.

1. KlarkKent

Dec 17, 2001
    Los Angeles
    Hey All,

Very proud to join the Forum. I have been playing guitar since 1982 and have decided to make the move to bass. They say I'll work FOREVER, I hope that's true. Part of the reason for the move is my all consuming passion for the Police. I can play and sing well and have about 90% of the songs down, ( I do a very good Sting impersonation).

So thats' me!!!

Equipment:(This is sad!)

A borrowed Danelectro
    A Yamaha 6 Channel Powered Board and single 12 inch Full Range Cabinet...That I am BABYSITTING!!

Yes, purchasing is on the horizon. Since I love The Police, I most definately will get an American Standard Jazz, used would be cool, and clear finish/No paint with Rosewood neck would be cooler. rig is one of the reasons I have joined the forum. Seems like theirs a billion options all of them expensive, ( I want a good tone ). I plan on spending about 1200.00 which I know is nothing but thats all I can afford!

I started thinkin about what to get when I remembered a comment sting made about his rig in an old guitar player mag. interview..." a P.A., big and loud"... SSSSSSOO it got me thinkin, they got this Sans Amp Bass Driver thing right I wonder if I could......

(all right guys...would this work?)

....Put together my own P.A. to run The Sans Amp Bass Driver through. Guitar into Sans Amp Bass Driver into 4 Channel mixer(Behringer), powered by 1000 watt Power amp,(Mackie), with a Comp/Limiter/Gate effect Rack,(???), INTO a Passive Full Range P.A. Cab. or Mid-Hi Bass Cab INTO a passive Sub-Woofer w/ Internal crossover.

A) Would This Work?
    b) Would it have a pretty good tone?
    c) I know this is a long Post
    d) I am a complete novice be gentle!!!!

Klark Kent
  2. Craig Garfinkel

Craig Garfinkel

Aug 25, 2000
    Hartford, CT
    Endorsing Artist: Sadowsky Guitars