1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New guy here with a couple of questions.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by SirBass, Jan 3, 2007.

1. SirBass

SirBass

Jan 1, 2007
    Sweet home...
    First, let me say Hello!

This is my first post here on Talkbass. I am an aspiring guitar builder (among other things). I have a couple of questions before I start my first build.

1) I will be gluing on a book matched top an am not exactly sure what kind of clamps would work the best.

I like the clamping system one the best. But, would it work for gluing multiple layers and gluing together the book matched joint at the same time?

“C” clamps - http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?familyid=4876
    Clamping System - http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?familyid=321
    Handscrews - http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?familyid=318

2) Which way should the grain direction flow?

Untitled-Duplicated-01.

Thank you very much for your help!

2. I'd go with the top picture.

3. Dean N

Dean N

Jul 4, 2006
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Top pic. I'd try to save a usable piece for the headstock.

Some guys on here have said good things about the #2 clamping system. I'm interested in hearing a consensus about the clamps (though pipe clamps are also popular around here).

4. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    never seen #2 is it strong enough? I use #3 and pipe clamps.....t

5. Dusty G

Dusty G

May 30, 2006
  6. eleonn

eleonn

Aug 24, 2006
    Lima - PerĂº
    +1

7. Nelson Guitars

Nelson Guitars

Aug 14, 2006
    Novato California
    Custom builder
    Or go old school and use something like this.
    wedgeclamp.