Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Guy--question about Carvin bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dios, Apr 6, 2002.

1. Dios

Dios

Apr 5, 2002
    Hey all,

I'm new to TB but already like it. I'm curious, though, as to why rickbass1 gave such a horrible review of Carvin's LB 75 5 string bass. I have owned an LB 76 (6 stringer) for a little over 3 years now and have yet to experience any problems.<br><br> I started on a cheap, used Gibson Epiphone 4 string bass which used to buzz all the time (didn't matter how hard I fretted notes. I also tried very light gauge strings to no avail) and couldn't keep in tune worth a flip. The electronics constantly failed too.<br><br> When I got my Carvin, I inspected it for any damage after removing it from the shipping box. No damage at all. In fact, it was within 5 cents of perfect tune on every string! <br><br> To this day, the neck is still straight, the tuning pegs are silky smooth and it sounds great. The finish is still as glossy as when I first got it. It still never goes more than 5 cents sharp or flat on any given string (actually, the only strings I find myself ever tuning are the B and E strings, if at all).<br> <br> I'm not sure what he was talking about with the buzz on the D and G strings; i've never experienced that. I used to be in many bands, so it got some good heavy usage, but nowadays, I mostly jam at home by myself. I'm not plugging Carvin or anything, so like anything else you buy, shop around for the best price/quality/performance. I shopped around for close to a year and tried every bass I could get my hands on before I settled on a Carvin.<br><br> I'm just curious as to why rickbass1 ripped into it so bad and dbradford gave it a positive review. Anyone else here own an LB 76? If so, when did you get it and how is it holding up? Good investment? Bad one? I'd like to know because I'm consideri