1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Guy with Questions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DerekMcC, Mar 27, 2009.

1. I'm new to the forum here and have spent a couple of days wandering around and reading but I figure I should introduce myself now and get some questions out.

I am a novice player in southeast Alabama. I played bass for a couple of years in a small church setting but that was over ten years ago. I have got the itch now to start learning the bass properly. What I mean is that I want to learn how to play with feeling beyond the quarter and half notes I played before.

I have been playing the guitar during this time:bag:, but when I listen to music I am drawn to what is going on in the background. This probably has to do wth the fact that I have been playing the trombone off and on for nearly 30 years.

So where do I need to start? I have been looking at basses locally and have found a 4-string Warwick I like but have been drawn mostly to a used 5-string G&L L-5000. I have also had some very interesting bass offers for a PRS SAS of mine I offered for trade over at the Birds and Moons forum (Carvin, Rickenbacker, and PRS).

I do not plan on getting a bass (or basses) that I will feel the need to upgrade in a year, so do you have suggestions on which of these basses would be a good place to start for a fingerstyle guitar player trying to learn the bass well.:help:

Thanks,

Derek

2. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN