Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Hartke Gear

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mbc, Nov 20, 2002.

1. mbc

mbc

Nov 15, 2002
    St Paul, MN, USA
    I have been playing Bass for about 6 months. About a month ago, I bought a Hartke HA2000 Amp and a Hartke 410XL cab.
    Just last week I discovered this great website & forums, but ya know... nobody seems to talk much (any) about the Hartke gear. I bought this stuff because I saw a couple of bass players using it, talking to them about it, etc.. I know it doesn't rank up there with the classics, but do you guys think this gear is ok, so-so, crappy? Like I said, haven't heard a lot of chatter here about this equipment.
    I am not playing any particular style of bass at this point, too busy learning a lot of the basics - 60's, 70's, & 80's style rock etc. Also trying to learn the "standards" but have a tough time finding any tabs for them (Sinatra, Bobby Darin, etc orchestra bass stuff).

Ok.. after all the rambling, I will spit it out.. Is the Hartke gear worth a darn, or should I have waited... getting worried here.... :)

Thanks!
    Mike

2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    Hartke stuff isn't "boutique" quality, but there's nothing wrong with it if the tone and price point meets your needs.

I've personally unloaded all of my Hartke stuff over the years, but there's absolutely nothing "wrong" with it for a non-pro or casual gigging musician.

3. MIke:
    you should do a search for Hartke, as is does get a fair about of discussion.
    I agree w/ Eric, the equipment has its place, its not boutique, and the aluminum sounds prolly wasn't what made the motown sound either. But the equipment is a workhorse. But you gotta either love the tone or not. (althou the new MX series has a very different sound to it-very non hartke sounding)