1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Head or Preamp pedal ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tonysplash, Oct 1, 2017.

1. Tonysplash

Tonysplash

Oct 1, 2017
    Hi ! First post here but been here a lot in the past year. I've been playing bass for a few years now, nothing professionnaly but been in a few bands and about a year ago i started recording. I'm getting better every week and wanted to know your opinions about something.

I currently have a recent(ish) Peavy TNT115 that I use when I do small shows with my band but i also use the DI out. In band practice I only bring my tuner and a fuzz pedal that has d.i out and plug into the mixer and run it through the monitors (Can't ). I really like the D.I option because my amp is a pain to move around as i dont have a car.

What do you think is a better option for both live/practice sound and also quiet recording ?
    AMP head with a d.i out(was think of a eden WTX264) or a pedal preamp (darkglass or sansamp BDDI)

Other suggestion accepted !

2. In my mind you are required, as a member of an ensemble, to be responsible for getting your sound out to the audience. You cannot always rely on there being a sound guy at the gig. Same goes if you carry your own PA. Putting a bass through the PA requires a larger system, read expense, subwoofers. Things can and do go wrong at the gig. There have been times when my amp has had to carry the PA. It’s a pre/power system so I can devote one channel, if required, to another purpose.

3. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Masks, people, masks!
    Song Surgeon slow downer.
    What do mean (Can't)? Your post is a little confusing.

4. Tonysplash

Tonysplash

Oct 1, 2017
    Sorry forget about the (Can't) dont know what happened there.