1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New Here, New To Bass, Gotta Question in Regards to Upgrading an Ibanez Roadstar II

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Josh O, Apr 4, 2009.

1. Josh O

Josh O

Apr 3, 2009
    Hi all, I'm new here and new to playing bass. I've been playing guitar for almost 12 years but this past week I've thrown my hat into the bass arena. The bass player in our band rarely shows up to our jam sessions so we've been relying on the pre-programmed bass grooves in a couple of different Boss drum machines. I happened across an Ibanez Roadstar II bass last week for absolute dirt so I picked it up. A couple of nights ago we got together and our bassist couldn't make it so I broke out the Ibanez and started fumbling my way around with it. I was having a blast, it feels very foreign to me and I don't know squat for songs on bass and boy did I want to grab a pick but I managed to add some intersting grooves to some of our originals that I've normally played rhythm/trading leads on. I think I've been bitten by the bass bug!