1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New here with a GK 700RBII question.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GhostofCain, Apr 19, 2010.

1. Hey guys I've kind lurked around for a while and finally decided to register and participate. I've been playing bass on and off for about 17 years, and i've been gigging for about 2. Mostly Hard Rock and Metal.

For around the past 2 years i've been playing through a GK 700RBII going through and GK Backline 4x10 sealed cab. I've always wanted to upgrade to something more diverse with a horn and possibly ported ,to get more low end and dirty tones. So the other day I was in guitar center with my brother who was just buying a book real quick. I saw this Fender Bassman 410 cab with a horn for $149.00 in near mint condition. I think it was on clearance. I tried it out and played with the horn control to make sure everything worked. This was what i've been keeping my eyes open for. The price was perfect and it has that real quality feel and look to it. I had to have it, so now i do. I later found out that list for this cab is $699.00.

Anyway I notice it has a "Speakon" input. I've already ordered a 4 pin speakon cable off eBay. My question is, can I use the Bi Amp controls on the GK head with this cab? Do I have to make any mods to the cable and if I do, how? Thanks for any help -Mike

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Good deal on the fender cab. I'm sure it will sound like a big improvement from the BL cab. As to the speakon question, I doubt the Fender cab is wired like GK cabs, for biamping. But shouldn't be too big a deal to re-wire it, so it can. Good luck.

3. To answer you question no you can't use a GK speakon cable on anything else besides a GK cab.

4. What about a generic speakon 4 pin cable modified? Or does the cab need to be rewired?

5. canadian*eh

canadian*eh