1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Jazz bass sounds strange?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Hollow Head Ted, Mar 26, 2015.

1. Hollow Head Ted

Hollow Head Ted

Mar 26, 2015
    Okay, I'm going to start off by saying that I'm new to playing bass. So, maybe everything I saw is completely ridiculous and amateur, but I need help. Okay, so.

I recently started playing bass. I played guitar before, and picked bass up because I was asked to be in a band and play bass, so I've been learning. I was borrowing a used Squier P Bass, and just picked up my own, a Squier J bass. I noticed that the strings on the J bass, right away, were more flexible and metallic sounding. So, I'm assuming that they are a thinner gauge than the ones on the P bass. But, as I got playing, I noticed that sometimes, while playing the J bass, that the frets didn't give the right tone, at all. The guitar is tuned, and everything, but something just doesn't sound right. I'll include a video of me playing Gigantic by The Pixies on both basses (the P bass being the one that sounds correctly), and you can hear where the J bass sounds different, and wrong. I really need help, guys!

2. mmbongo

mmbongo Five Time World Champion Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    To me the Jazz bass sounds more right, it's more lively and almost twice as loud. The P bass sounds dull and muted.

3. Hollow Head Ted

Hollow Head Ted

Mar 26, 2015
    yeah I know what you mean, but if you listen to the actual version of the song I was playing () you could see that when I play D then A, in the second fret, it doesn't sound like the original, I find te D string doesn't sound as high as it should or something.

4. mmbongo

mmbongo Five Time World Champion Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas