New kid

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DJOSEON, Sep 20, 2005.

Sep 20, 2005
    Hey guys I just bummed around these forums, and decided why not join up...Well I'm 17 and I started playing bass for like 2-3 months...I use a blue ibanez gsr-200 and I mainly play for church, and I pick up things from one of the guys who majored in bass ( There's four guys in the college praise department who all majored in music; one bass, percussion, vocals, and another vocal ). Anyway, just thought I'd introduce myself...

I also have a question, and I did search around quite a bit. I'm like five foot 7 and my hands aren't very huge, and I been looking into the SX short scale jazz bass...Would it be a good investment in your honest opinion? I'm buying it with my own money so I'd love to know from if any of you shortscalers recommend it. It just hurts like hell to play a medium size.
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Why does it hurt? You are 17, one would think you are large enough. Something tells me you arent playing correctly.
  3. Red701

Aug 5, 2005
    it hurt me alot when i started playing too. ive grown since then and they tell me i have bigger tha average hands (you know what that means) but i think the more you play the less it hurts. that goes for learning new, faster songsw ith more complex fingering too. itll hurt the first few times you play it but itll get better
  4. clanner

clanner Token Black Guy.

Apr 27, 2005
    ummmmm, marietta GA
    mother nature's trying to make up for something? j/k

ask the bassist of he can give you any tips first. it may simply be technique. how far down is the bass hanging? what is hurting and what kind of bass you are learning would be helpful.

Sep 20, 2005