1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New member - Amp ? for Fender Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 5fivestringbass, Mar 14, 2010.

1. 5fivestringbass

5fivestringbass

Jan 29, 2010
    DE, US
    Hello - newbie here, though 15yr bass player. Am a new Fender Jazz Bass owner (Highway One), and looking to get back into getting a decent amp/combo amp.

Curious - what do some of you Fender Jazz owners find does a great job of bringing out the warmth and zing of the Fender Jazz.

(I've played the Ampeg B115 combo - and while the warmth is there, it's all muted (to me anyway) on the mids & uppers.)

Thoughts? :help:

2. Jeff Scott

Jeff Scott Rickenbacker guru..........

Apr 11, 2006
    Markbass! :)

3. Jim Roseberry

Jim Roseberry

May 24, 2007
    IMO, The B115 isn't Ampeg's finest amp...
    (And I'm an Ampeg fan)

I'd checkout the Micro VR (paired with your favorite 2x10 4-ohm cab). Good sound and light weight

4. rptrsn2

rptrsn2

Feb 21, 2008
    Northeast Missouri
    Endorsing Artist: Aurora Strings
    easy one GK!!!!

5. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I'd +1 for the micro-vr, except for the 4 ohm 210. i'd go 8 ohm because you can add a second 210 down the road and get a 410 in a tall stack. and while the ba115 is voiced kind of dark, the eq knobs work quite well for dialing in other tones, and in that price range it's about the best there is.

6. invalidprotocol

invalidprotocol Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2008
    DFW
    I bought a GK MB210 combo and find it a perfect match to my Fender American Standard Jazz. Rich tone and brings out the growl.

7. U R gonna get EVERYONE's fave amp mentioned here :) Checkout the CLASSIFIEDS section on talkbass here, & ask a few questions of ppl selling amps maybe.