Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Member - Introductions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kroy, Jan 19, 2006.

1. Kroy

Kroy

Jan 19, 2006
    Hello all,

There's not dedicated forum for welcome and introductions so I figured I'd just Bogart some space in this forum. I'm James but you can call me Kroy. I've been playing bass for a little over 10 years. I took a few years off of really intense playing to go to school and get an Undergrad and Master's degree in music composition. Now that I'm out of school I'm back to playing bass a lot more and really loving it.

My personal goal is to make a living as a musician either by playing gigs, recording, or as a teacher. Right now I'm a guitar/bass/voice instructor at a music school and I'd love to add some gigging to my schedule. Unfortunately my gear isn't really up to par for anything larger than a coffee house. I have 2 basses both bought when I was just learning so they're both cheap and a little dicey. I have an old Ibanez GT (precursor to the SG series I think) which was made fretless by someone who didn't really know what they were doing. The neck is a mess and they put round-wound strings back on the neck so the fretboard is completely chewed up. I didn't know the round-wound strings were a problem until recently. The bass that I actually play and teach on is a short scale Danelectro Longhorn (I think). I bought it for like 200 dollars in college because it was a better bass than I had and I was a broke college student. Amazingly it doesn't too bad but the electronics on it leave quite a bit to be desired. My current amp is a Fender BXR 100W. It's actually a nice sounding amp.