Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new order/joy division/monaco bassist.

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by edh, Apr 2, 2003.

1. edh

edh

Apr 2, 2003
    as a beginner, i kind of like peter hook's work. does anyone know how he get's that distinct sound that's prevalent in a lot of new order tracks? i found out that a distortion pedal helps for early joy division songs (i.e. transmission). any info would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

2. Well, for starters, he used a pick... :p

Beyond that, a lot of it was just recording techniques. It sounds like he was using a miked amp, especially on Unknown Pleasures, and I'm sure the engineer put his signal through a great deal of whatever processing was available in '79 (as was the case with the drums--phew!)

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

When I was trying to "cop his licks" back in the 80s I used an Electro Harmonix "Electric Mistress" flanger - this was one of the first on the market, readily available...but I think his distinctive tone is really his "lead playing" - high up the neck, picked close to the bridge - I remember seeing him a few feet away at New Order's first "secret" gig.

4. Oh quit yer boasting (/me is more than a touch jealous). :spit: :cool:

Playing with a pick, with your bridge pickup solo-d and a chorus pedal is the way to go. You can get his sound out of most chorus pedals - he didn't use *that much* chorusing effect. I use a DOD FX-63 "Deep Freeze" chorus, and it gets the sound.

5. geshel

geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Seattle