1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

new order/joy division/monaco bassist.

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by edh, Apr 2, 2003.

1. edh

edh

Apr 2, 2003
    as a beginner, i kind of like peter hook's work. does anyone know how he get's that distinct sound that's prevalent in a lot of new order tracks? i found out that a distortion pedal helps for early joy division songs (i.e. transmission). any info would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

2. Well, for starters, he used a pick... :p

Beyond that, a lot of it was just recording techniques. It sounds like he was using a miked amp, especially on Unknown Pleasures, and I'm sure the engineer put his signal through a great deal of whatever processing was available in '79 (as was the case with the drums--phew!)

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

When I was trying to "cop his licks" back in the 80s I used an Electro Harmonix "Electric Mistress" flanger - this was one of the first on the market, readily available...but I think his distinctive tone is really his "lead playing" - high up the neck, picked close to the bridge - I remember seeing him a few feet away at New Order's first "secret" gig.

4. Oh quit yer boasting (/me is more than a touch jealous). :spit: :cool:

Playing with a pick, with your bridge pickup solo-d and a chorus pedal is the way to go. You can get his sound out of most chorus pedals - he didn't use *that much* chorusing effect. I use a DOD FX-63 "Deep Freeze" chorus, and it gets the sound.

5. geshel

geshel

Oct 2, 2001
    Seattle