Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Orleans Bass Players?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by NOLABASS, Dec 8, 2002.

1. NOLABASS

NOLABASS

Oct 16, 2002
    New Orleans
    Hey folks, I'm a newbie here, and was wondering if there are many/any New Orleans (or La.) bass players posting in TalkBass.

2. ganttbos

ganttbos The Professor Supporting Member

Dec 18, 2001
    New Orleans area
    Where y'at? I got your email yesterday. Thanks.
    I know a lot of players in the area 'cause I've been around for a while. Without exception when I mention TalkBass they've never heard of it. Many of the older guys don't have computers or are just intimidated by them. I've learned a lot on TB and made some good friends. I'm kinda in a a second childhood with bass though I've played professionally for a long time. I live on the northshore near Covington.
    So what's the scene like at Scrubs on Thursday night?

3. NOLABASS

NOLABASS

Oct 16, 2002
    New Orleans
    Hey man,
    Demeter, Acme, and QSC must be smiling due to all the internet bass players that have purchased that rig! Scrubs (across from Ochsner Hospital on Jefferson Highway) is really one of the best blues jams in town. Not a lot of gui****s struting the yard, not a lot of over the top egos. Everybody gets to play, and everbody seems to get along. Way differant from most the other jams. (read Checkpoint Charlies) There are a lot of blues players, rather than jazz players wanting to play something different. Jazz players are cool, don't get me wrong, but if it's a blues jam, we should be playing blues. I've been here since '95, made some friends, and am just now starting to get the occational gig. Tuff town, you know?

4. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Former Northshore & BRLA checkin' in!