New person to 5 strings pleading for advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Gingerfish, Mar 17, 2004.

1. I started playing about a year ago and want to buy a 5 string soon, and so am asking for advice on what people think I should go for?
    I play a lot of stuff from really mellow jazz to much heavier stuff, so anyone know of a really versatile bass in the price region of £500 to £700.
  2. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    Peavey, Ibanez, Yamaha, MTD (Kingston or Heir), Fender Jazz V are some that come to mind immediately. What's available in your area? Also you need to think about neck shape, weight, and some other factors. Most of the brands I mention above have nice thin necks which making playing a 5 a bit easier (for me).

Just some thoughts. Your best bet is to take a trip to the local reseller and try out a few basses and decide which factors are important to you in selecting a bass.

3. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    Try different bridge string widths. Personally 17.5mm spacing is too narrow for me to play comfortably, but my Pedulla Rapture has 19mm spacing which is just right for me.
  4. McHack

Jul 29, 2003
    Central Ohio!
    I don't know what that translates to, in US Dollars. However, I'd recomment a Lakland Skyline 55-01 any day over every bass recommended thus far.
  5. If we're talking brand new, I'd say an Ibanez BTB405QM.

A nice tone, feel and a very good B string.

You should try to play as many basses as you can to see which kind of neck profile you prefer, and how comfortable the bass is to play.

6. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Spector NS2000 Q5!
  7. lamarjones

lamarjones Supporting Member

Aug 27, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
    Cort Elrick JP 5
    MTD Kingston or Heir 5 (throw a kickass preamp in it!)
    Lakland 55-01 or the 02