Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Pickups?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Thunderbird91, Oct 24, 2005.

1. Hey i have a epiphone thunderbird bass :bassist: that i just got a month ago. I am new at bass and im interested in replacing the stock pickups. I looked at musicians friend and found a bunch but i dont know if it matters which one i get. is there a certain type i have to get? :help: :confused:

2. nothing?

3. luknfur

luknfur

Jan 14, 2004
    DIXIE
    FWIW:

All pups don't sound alike, fit your bass, or fit your needs.

Measure the dimensions of your pups.

Unless you want to carve your bass up, you can throw out pups that don't fit the routings - will probably be about 95% or more of them.

For the roughly 5% of those that will fit, go to the related site and read what the manufacturer has to say, do a search for reviews on them.

Draw your conclusions, pick your pup, and try it and see what happens.

I would also go to harmonycentral.com and read reveiws on your bass and see what players have to say about it. There may be some who have changed pups and will say as much. If nobody's changed pups and the "sound ratings" are high, you may want to rethink changing the pups.

4. thanks but why do you call them pups?

5. luknfur

luknfur

Jan 14, 2004
    DIXIE
    FWIW:

Short for pickups. PickUPS. Common terminology in the US.

6. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    Is there a particular reason you're dead set on changing the pickups?

If you're new to playing bass, practice will do more for your sound than new pickups.

Alternatively, try different types of strings or raising / lowering your pickup heights. Both of these things have huge impact on your sound

7. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ