1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Player: Importance of scales?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BassicBitch, Mar 5, 2016.

1. BassicBitch

BassicBitch

Mar 3, 2016
    Ireland
    (sorry if this isn't the correct place to post this, I'm new to TalkBass.com)

I'm a fairly new bass player. I picked up my first bass in October of 2015. I have owned an electric guitar earlier in my life, but that was about 5 years ago and I sold it soon after because I didn't feel comfortable with it and didn't feel as if guitar was for me.
    Anyway, I feel comfortable enough with my bass now. I recently learned how to slap. I've taught myself to use all four fingers of my fretting hand, and I feel like I'm learning something new everyday.
    My one question is, what is the importance of learning scales and theory (I'm self-taught, so I don't have a teacher). The only reason I see is that it would be useful for writing bass lines(and even this may be wrong). I'd also like to point out that I don't see myself as a professional musician in the future, I'd like to keep bass as a hobby (at least for now)

2. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    Scales, theory, and proper technique are of the utmost importance, you are wasting so much time and energy by not studying with a good teacher. It is a huge red flag to me that you think playing bass is about slapping and spreading your fingers really wide apart.

Sorry to "tell it like it is," but you did ask. ;)

3. jasonrp

jasonrp

Feb 19, 2015
    vt
    IMO you should have at least a workable understanding of scales, chords and key sigs. Just being able to understand *** someone means when they say a song is I IV V in E will help your understand a lot

4. HandsFree

HandsFree

Dec 23, 2015