1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New player looking for advice

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by nboyer941, Sep 1, 2008.

1. nboyer941

nboyer941

Jul 22, 2008
    Burnsville, MN
    Hey all. I've been playing for about 6-7 months. I have just started playing with my two friends. (guitar player and drummer.)

The guitar player is good but he has the same problem as me. He is not good at playing with other people because he plays by himself a lot.

We are having trouble playing together. We play some of his originals, and we tried some songs like My Hero by the Foo Fighters and things like that but it just never seems to work out. Also, he doesn't really like playing "songs." He simply likes to jam and just feel it out.

I guess what I'm asking for is maybe a list of simple, fun songs that all three of us can learn and play together with. or some tips for me being able to jam with him would also help.

Any other help/tips would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2. gaunten

gaunten

May 27, 2008
    sweden skåne
    Just get dead set on learning a number of songs (I really don't know which songs to give you as examples, because that is a matter of taste, but since you've tried FF, why don't you try some other Foo fighters songs, or nirvana, soundgarden etc.)
    and practice practice practice, and most of all, while it is fun to jam around, never let it get out of hand, as might easily happen in the beginning, do something like this: