Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New player with pinky and thumb pain!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by goodguy782, Aug 31, 2004.

1. goodguy782

goodguy782

Jul 20, 2004
    california
    I have been playing for about 6 months but just recently really got into it. I can play the beginner songs no problem without pain, but I got a book recommend on these forums called Bass Fitness, and when I try the excercises in there my fingering hand starts burning really bad on the side of my hand below my pinky and in the ball of my hand right below my thumb. I tried playing as soft as I can but it still burns. Is this something that just happens with new players and is the muscle burning from being used in a whole new way or am I setting my self up for some serious hand injury down the road? I really want to start practicing a couple hours a day but right now just getting through 30 min is a test of pain tolerance. Any help is MUCH appreciated! I also just want to shout out how happy I am to learn the bass instead of going the all too common route or learning gutiar.

2. goodguy782

goodguy782

Jul 20, 2004
    california
    Someone please tell me if I'm doing something wrong! :crying:

3. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    Yeah me too, really on the base of my palm closer to my thumb. Stretch before you play, and your squezing too much with your thumb. I read on here that you should press with your fingers not squeeze with your thumb or pinch your finger and thumb together when you play.

4. That's right, most of the time your thumb doesn't even need to touch the neck. It's okay if it does, of course, but don't be exerting pressure when it's not absolutely necessary.

5. goodguy782

goodguy782

Jul 20, 2004
    california