New Preamp Today.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joe Beets, Jun 22, 2005.

1. Joe Beets

Joe Beets Guest

Nov 21, 2004
    The brown truck brought my new bass preamp today. So I hooked everything up and got ready to blast out the "Cry of Love" album. Turn up the gain and master volume.......nothing. OK, something must not be plugged in right. Re-check all the cords, give the bass a thump.....nothing. Except when I turn the gain knob there is a terrible crackling and popping coming out of the speakers. So then I plug the bass directly into the Stewart 1.2, like I have been using it for two years. Sounds beautiful. It sounds so good I have to ask myself why I bought a stinking preamp anyway. Now I remember, to boost my signal for the power amp and for the DI out. So now I'm stuck with a brand new, fresh out of the factory sealed carton, defective piece of crap. I put a call in to the service department but I probably won't hear back from them until tomorrow. Friday morning it's going back for a refund. Why, oh why, didn't I stick to plan "A", The Avalon U5? :meh:
  2. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    So what was this unit you bought?
  3. Joe Beets

Joe Beets Guest

Nov 21, 2004
    I don't want to give out the name until I've given the service department a chance to send me another unit. These things happen. If a replacement is on the way by Friday, then all will be good. If not, then there will be plenty of time to slam the company and their products later. ;)
  4. Joe Beets

Joe Beets Guest

Nov 21, 2004