1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New Purchase coming up

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Landy67, Aug 2, 2012.

1. Hi All,

I'm new to playing bass, but I'm having lots of fun, and learning all kinds of new stuff. My entry to the world of bass was a Dean Edge Fretless with passive EMG-HZ pickups, and a Acoustic B-20 amp. Both of them were used, and I paid more for a set of D'Addario Chrome's than I did for either the Bass or the amp.

I'm ready to upgrade, and the tax free weekend is coming up, so I'm hoping to take advantage of the sales, and buy from local people. I have enough of a budget to buy a nice amp, or a nice bass, but not both.

I'm looking for recommendations.
    1 Should I spend my money on a new Amp, or a new Bass?
    2 Maybe a new amp, and upgrade the bass?

I only play for my own entertainment and education, and occasionally with others. I would like to get something that's going to last me. I'd rather buy something beyond my abilities that I can grow into.

So... What would you do? What's your favorite gear? I'm into rock, folk, funk, reggae, bluegrass.

Thanks!

2. lburton2

lburton2 Les Is More

May 15, 2008
    Detroit, MI
    I'd probably get a new bass before the amp. Considering that you don't need a big practice/gigging amp, the new bass would probably be the best route.

If you're looking for another fretless, i'm personally a fan of how Warwick and Fender fretless basses feel and play.

3. Alex1984

Alex1984

Jan 16, 2010
    Vancouver