NEW SOUNDS : damping the strings

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jtauban, Sep 18, 2004.

1. jtauban

Oct 28, 2003
    I read in an article that some bass players in the 60s 70s used to damp (/mute) the strings (sometimes even with spounges) to do some recordings. It was the first time I came accross this information, so I took the bass and experimented with a spounge. The thing is I got this wonderful sound, like an old recording of a double bass, but it changed the tuning. And the green spounge doesn't really match the sunburst finish on my thunderbird. I'm really not a pro, so I thought I'd get some help and more info from those of you who use this technique.
    What material do you use?
    Where / how do you place it?
    Do you keep the strings muted always?
    Do you use this technique live as well?
    Enough questions, i'll go back to my spounge/bass
  2. Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    There are special mutes for basses that can be drilled on (like on stringrays or jazz basses of the early days), there's also which has a glue on one. People also use scrunchies, socks, etc. Be creative.
  3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    We're talking about two distinctly different kinds of muting here. muting down by the bridge is an old technique, and some basses come with (or used to anyway) a mute built-in from the factory - the Rick.. is it 4001 model?... has an adjustable one built right into the bridge. I can't think of an example now, but there are several old country or standard tunes where this is really noticeable - as for as I can tell, I think they usually used a pick for this sound; it's really middy, with a woodblock-like clack at the beginning of each note (I think it sounds horrendous!). It's a distinctive sound that I don't much care for, especially when you're stuck using it for a whole song - I think it's best to learn to palm-mute for the occasional times when it might work.