New strings? .. hear me out.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Jmitch222, Aug 5, 2021.

1. Jmitch222

Jmitch222

Aug 5, 2021
    Hey what’s up everybody!? I was a guitar player for years and over the past few months I’ve taken a deep dive into the bass world.

I see lot of people playing bass that don’t change their strings often or ever. Some say they bought a vintage bass and have never changed their strings (and have had the bass for over 6 years). As a guitarist I loved the way new guitar strings felt and sounded. New strings made the guitar come to life for me. What’s the reason for not changing bass strings? Is it because new strings sound too bright and punk rock-ish? And older strings sound deep and just sit in the mix? It’s also a feel thing for me. It’s completely different coming from the guitar world to the bass world in that regard. I know it may be different for everyone but what is the reasoning behind never changing your bass strings?

A little back story:
    Recently some friends started a new band and asked if I wanted to pay bass for a few shows they have coming up. Of course I said yes but I didn’t have a bass. That sent me spiraling down the bass rabbit hole trying anything and everything I could get my hands on all over central Florida, doing research, seeing what basses the people I was into played and why it sounded that way.. ect. I ended up buying a Fender American professional ii p bass. I went further down the rabbit hole and just bought a fender jmj mustang. I love both of them and how they’re completely different in every way. It’s nice to have two different colors to paint with sonically and both make me play and sound different. I’m probably going to be asking a bunch of noobie questions so please bear with me.

Thanks in advance!

Jeff

Last edited: Aug 5, 2021
  2. Bass V

Bass V

Dec 11, 2008
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    there are those in bassworld who feel the need for brand new strings all the time as well.