New style Sovtek tubes

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Caca de Kick, Dec 26, 2002.

1. Caca de Kick

Caca de Kick Supporting Member

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma
    I've been using Sovteks in both my Mesa 400's for years. Yup the ones in the red/wht/blu boxes.
    So it's time to get a new set and I run down to find a new Sovtek blu/wht box that says WXT on it.

I get back to the jam pad and plug 'em in to find they sorta suck! Boy these new versions are real glassy...too much shrill and not enough beef. I don't like them.

Has anyone else used them yet?
  2. Caca de Kick

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma
    These aren't pre amp tubes I replaced, these new WXT's are power amp 5881/6L6 tubes. The boxes have a new look and new looked like they came out with a new variation since it said WXT on the box.
    All I can say is the sound is way too glassy on top.
  3. I have been using Svetlana 6L6GC for a couple years now in both my 400+ and they sound real smooth with just the right amount of grind. I didn't like 5881 tubes which are 6l6 military version (right PBG) they are more gritty and thin sounding. I like the fatboy sound...

fyi: I use 12ax7eh pre tubes.

4. bben

Feb 28, 2002
    Santa Fe, NM

As I understand the general wisdom, output tubes are good for 2000 to 3000 hours (except for the venerable 300B, which is good for about 10,000 but not used in guitar amps).

All tube power amps should have adjustable bias, IMHO. I agree with psycho - shame on Mesa.
  5. Caca de Kick

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma
    Wow, PBG! Incredible post! Thanks for all the info you packed in there. In all the years I've owned both of these Mesa 400 heads, only one other person mentioned I should have them converted to adjustable biasing, but he couldn't tell me why. Now I see why.