1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New SVT 4 Faulty?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Murph_Orpheus, Sep 22, 2010.

1. So my new SVT 4 Pro arrived today, but when I started playing through it all I got was a low distorted noise. This happens when I have it mono bridged(I do have the switch pressed in for mono bridge mode). I tried different speakon cables and leads for my bass, even tried a 2nd bass but got the same result. Also when I tried both power amp a and b separately(with the switch pressed out) I got no volume at all. Is the amp ****ed or am I doing something wrong?? :(

2. DanRJBrasil

DanRJBrasil

Jun 10, 2007
    return it you got a bad lemon

3. ...and I thought my SVT 4 sucked. return it

4. Is it worth seeing if I can get it returned and repaired or do you reckon it's totally done in and I should go for the refund?

5. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Inactive

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    New huh? Drag. Send it back and look for used one from the St. Louis days.

6. Gearhead17

Gearhead17 Supporting Member

May 4, 2006
    Mount Prospect, IL
    Are you using the speakon cord you got with it? It is correctly wired for the 4 PRO in Mono Bridged mode. Not using it will result in the sound you are talking about. Did you turn off Mono Bridge mode when using each channel separately? Each channel can run a standard speakon cable no problem. Check the manual - in small print under the mono bridge section and you can see what your speakon cable should be wired as.

7. DanRJBrasil

DanRJBrasil

Jun 10, 2007
    have you tried to use a 1/4 connector?
    a regular speakon cable doesn't work in the svt4 has to be a special wired one

8. DanRJBrasil

DanRJBrasil

Jun 10, 2007
    I love mine are you experiencing problems with yours?