Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New TB'ers

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by caesarbass, Feb 17, 2005.

1. I'm new to TB and to forums in general. It seems that the people that have been posting here for a while get very impatient and irritated when a new TB'er hits on a topic that has been talked about again and again. I know that this is only my opinion, and it's really difficult to "read emotions," so maybe I'm reading into it incorrectly. I've posted topics that are old and a moderator, or veteran TB'er, has been very nice and suggested doing a search, but I've read some where people are just rude. It would be nice to encourage people to keep posting, and even if it's been posted to death, maybe it's new to some people. Just a thought. :cool:

2. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    The general consensus about the "do a search" thing is typically how recent the topic is. If there's been several threads in the few days/week about, say, MIM vs. MIA, then you're more likely to get the "Do a search" thing than if it hasn't come up in a month.

That, and we do have some FAQ stickied, and that's where a bit attitude might come from. If there's a FAQ stickied, you'll probably get much more curt responses.

3. I thought that aswell, some people do get quite rude, but overall this is one of the best forums I have been on. Plus sometimes being a little more persistant about people doing a search on certain topics is needed. Tho you are right, new users more then likely don't realize how to/ don't know about searching for topics.

4. (echoing Brandon) I think a lot of the frustration lies in the fact that every forum has some kind of "sticky" covering answers to commonly asked questions or general posting etiquette...including the request to use the search function before you post.