1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New to bass and don't know what to buy

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Junjira Brown, Sep 30, 2019.

1. Junjira Brown

Junjira Brown

Sep 30, 2019
    I recently started learning bass and a friend lent me his Fender Squier Bronco Shortscale bass. I've been finding it easy enough to play - I'm quite small so it feels like a good enough size (I don't think I'd go any bigger). However, I struggle to press down hard enough to get a clean sound.

I've been wanting to get my own bass, but with that in mind, I'm not sure what to get. Would getting a smaller size (for example, I found one that is 27") mean I could press down easier or is that just a matter of me toughening up/practicing? Would I be compromising the sound if I got something that small?

Sorry if I sound completely uneducated - I have no clue what I'm doing but I'd really like to learn. Thanks!

Bass V likes this.
  2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    It sounds like the bass you're playing needs a set up. It's a series of adjustments that make it easier to play. It's your friends bass to talk to him about making that happen. The best thing you can do for now is get that bass set up and play it for a while, assuming that's an option. Save your money till you're more comfortable with the instrument and then you can revisit purchase options later. See about getting lessons. A teacher will be able to help you with the set up, again assuming it's okay with the person who owns the bass.

12BitSlab, bhendrix, JeroB666 and 6 others like this.
  3. garp

garp

Feb 7, 2009
    Connecticut USA
    Welcome to TalkBass.