1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

new to bass and the forum

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by villhelmromero, Oct 13, 2013.

1. villhelmromero

villhelmromero

Oct 12, 2013
    austin
    so I've been playing guitar for 12 or 13 years and last month decided to take on the bass. so far I've aquired a whole setup. I got a deal on a full stack in excellent condition. the owner claimed that it belonged to creeds ex bass player before they were famous. I don't know who that would be nor do I believe the story one bit. anyhoo... it's a peavey max bass 450 head with Hartke vx410 and vx215 cabinets. got it all for $375 and its pretty much immaculate. so then I found a sweet ass red yamaha bb415 5 string bass with p/j pickup configuration. 1 volume 1 tone and 3 way pickup selector. also in awesome condition except for the nut broke on the B string sooooo I put a brass nut on it and changed it from beadg to eadgb so the slots on the nut fit .100.80.60.45.35 size strings. cost was $300 for the Yamaha. then I found a NOS (new old stock) line 6 bass pod XT pro rack unit for $200. so totalling out with the 2 $25 speaker cables I got for the cabs I got a stage rig that sounds excellent for $925. not too bad if you ask me. so as far as playing I'm not going to put much time in learning to play with my fingers because I am well off with a pick and flaminco finger style. I got really good geddy lee and justin chancellor tones with the line 6 and I can switch around instantly. any sound advice (pun intended) on tones, playing, ect... is welcome. and thanks for having me :D

2. Welcome! Nice bunch of gear you acquired.

Your tuning - EADGB - is a habit from your guitar days. Time to tune - EADGC -

And have fun!

3. villhelmromero

villhelmromero

Oct 12, 2013
    austin