1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New to bass - learning notes?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ryall, Mar 15, 2008.

1. Ryall

Ryall

Mar 15, 2008
    Hey all. I'm new to the bass (and any instrument, for that matter) as well as these forums. I'm pretty sure this is the right sub-forum to post this in.

I got a Tradition bass a week ago. I've started learning several songs, and gotten the hang of it a bit. I realized how important it is to learn all of the different notes (right?), and so I'm trying to go about doing so. The thing is I'm not sure the best way to go about that.

I don't want to just remember where the A's, for example, are, but rather learn how to play them without thinking much about it. I think that makes sense. How would you more experienced players recommend that I learn all of the notes?

2. Kenji

Kenji

Nov 6, 2007
    Holladay UT
    practice.

3. Ryall

Ryall

Mar 15, 2008
    But that's what I'm trying to ask. Should I just go and practice hitting all of the A's and then all the B's and etc.? Should I just make up some sort of bass line that includes several notes and just mix it up to learn the different ones? I just want to know the most efficient way. Telling me to practice isn't all that helpful =\.

4. shatterd

shatterd

Feb 24, 2008
    Practice. lessons. etc.

www.workshoplive.com (some great bass lessons on there)

Start with the beginners course by Alfredo Grado. He taught me the chromatic scale, major scale, major triads, scale degrees, and octaves. Now it's much easier to know the notes all over the fret board.

5. traktor

traktor

Jul 22, 2001
    Weed, California
    U.S. Manager for Mobius Megatar Touch-Style Basses
    I'm not a normal bass-player so perhaps not the best to answer, but I do have an idea that helped me to learn the notes.