Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New to Bass...Need AMP help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by creamofjoshsoup, Aug 10, 2005.

1. creamofjoshsoup

creamofjoshsoup

Aug 10, 2005
    hi guys, im new to playin. Could i get some opinions on a decent starter amp. I have a BC Rich Bronze Warlock. So any help would be nice. thanks

2. Do you just want a small practice amp? If so... it'll cost around $100.00 (US)

I have older model of this Crate, and it's still going strong after 2 years.

Fender makes this one...

Ibanez makes this one...

But, check out MusiciansFriend.com and get a good idea of all the companies that make bass amps, and the price.

3. If you're not doing a lot of major gigging I'd recommend something small and easy to move. Yorkland makes a real nice 10" combo that will fill a room nicely. XM50c I believe, or The Hartke kick backs and Behringer combos are pretty affordable and sound nice. Depends on your price range really...

4. creamofjoshsoup

creamofjoshsoup

Aug 10, 2005
    looking for a 12" speaker. playin with a couple of others. something maybe 60-120w

5. With drummers you need atleast 100 watts and a 15 inch speaker (as long as you don't have crazy guitarists).

If it's just guitarists, a 12 inch speaker with around 60 watts will be perfect. If it's just for jamming with a single guitarist, I wouldn't spend mroe than $150. You might even be able to play in a small jazz band if the chance comes by.

6. If you have a 150 watt amp with a 12" speaker, and one with a 15" Will the bigger speaker be louder? Or does it matter?