Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new to bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lateralus, Jul 21, 2002.

1. lateralus

lateralus Guest

Jul 21, 2002
    hello i am relatively new to bass and i know a few riffs but only own a guitar i want to start getting into bass and was wondering what good cheap bass is worth buying ive been looking at 3 basses
    the squire mb4 string 179 at musicians friend
    the fernandes tremor 4 standard 169 at musicians friend
    and the yamaha rbx 170 169 at musicinas friend
    are any of them worth getting if not could you name some that are and around the smae price any help would be apreciated
    Thank you for you time
    sorry for the bad grammar and spelling

2. Listen

Listen

May 19, 2002
    Welcome to TalkBass!

I say go with the yamaha, but what feels best to you is right.

3. lateralus

lateralus Guest

Jul 21, 2002
    do you know what scale the yamaha is?
    thanx for your reply

4. lakerkobe

lakerkobe

Jun 17, 2002
    Portland, OR
    Not that I would know... but a lot of people seem to recommend the Essex Jazz copy at www.rondomusic.com for a cheap first bass.

5. I've got a 4 string MIM Jazz but I just picked up, for when I want to try my hand at fretless, an Essex 5 string fretless.

Considering I paid about $200 for it, with shipping, it's not too bad. Nothing obviously out of whack with it and it plays nice. The strings were a little high off the fretboard, but that might be from some standardized setting at the factory.

It's not a high end bass by any means but it's ok. The only thing that is a little irritating is a slight hum. But I figure I'll dive on into the guts of the thing and fix that. The fretboard is decent and feels good. All in all it's a decent bass. A bit lighter than the MIM Jazz and with a slightly thinner neck.

*shrug* it seems fine to me.