1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New to bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Aicdummer, Mar 18, 2013.

1. Aicdummer

Aicdummer

Mar 18, 2013
    Hey guys. So ive been playing drums for a little over 3 years. And ive always wanted to play bass to. My friend has taught me some basic songs and im really excited to start playing. I ordered a red fender jaguar. Any advice for startin off? Id really apreciate it.

2. mjbing

mjbing

May 5, 2005
    Western Oklahoma
    Read
    Read this forum
    Read the stickys
    Search advice for new guys and read
    The info you desire is here
    Search is your friend
    I read for years before I started posting
    All my questions were answered
    Welcome to the low down :D

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Mjbing is correct. You will get all the information you require here. The problem is, getting it in the correct order, to help someone starting out.

As you are new to the bass, my advice (in order of importance, as I see it) is;

1. Spend a bit of time just getting used to the feel and different sounds of your bass.

2. Learn how to hold the bass, so as it is comfortable to play.

3. Learn good left and right hand technique.

4. Learn where all the notes on the fretboard are situated.

5. For a start, learn the Major, Minor and Pentatonic scales. Learn how chords are derived from scales.

6. Tabs are OK up to a point, but dont rely on them totally. Instead, develop your ear by trying to play along to music that you like. Try to figure things out for yourself. This will pay dividends in the long term.