Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new to giging and in need of answers

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by punkmetal, Jul 19, 2005.

1. punkmetal

punkmetal Guest

Jul 19, 2005
    WI (milwaukee area)
    I am new to giging for real shows and have a few questions i am hoping can be answered in a forum.

The main thing i need to no is what is a good amp configuration for small to medium stages

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    One good 410 cab and at least 600 watts to drive it.

3. jiant.

jiant.

Jul 3, 2004
    Fort Mill, SC
    My SVT 410HLF and WT-400 seem to do the trick. That's 400 watts into a ported 4x10. While more watts is usually better, it's not always necessary. Just look around local shops/ the internet for stuff you're interested in and that you can afford then check here or www.harmonycentral.com for reviews. Also don't forget to check the talkbass for sale forums, great deals over there. Speaking of money and stuff, how much do you have to spend on your rig? God Bless. -Brad

4. The Nanny

The Nanny

Dec 23, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    He did say small to medium...there are some on these forums that will tell you only a Cadillac will do, when a Honda is in order. 400 watts would be plenty, but Munj is right on the cab...go with a 4x10 rather than 1x15.

5. xshawnxearthx

xshawnxearthx

Aug 23, 2004
    new jersey
    svt 3 pro
    410hlf

all ampeg
    all the time.

6. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    A 1x15 with 200-300 watts could be enough for most situations, thought you can go wrong with the 4x10 idea. Probably a high output 2x10 combo would be alright too, though that might be pushing it a little.