Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New to guitar stuff

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by cking332, Aug 22, 2004.

1. cking332

cking332

Aug 22, 2004
    Hey,
    Im new to all the guitar stuff, could someone tell me what would be a good bass guitar to have for a few years and maybe use in a band? Mods: sry if this is agianst the rules
    thank u
    cking332

2. yyz

yyz

Aug 17, 2004
    Bumpass, Virginia
    What type of music do you play?

3. cking332

cking332

Aug 22, 2004
    i probably plan on playing rock or punk, not sure but id like to play music kinda like system of a down's style

4. cking332

cking332

Aug 22, 2004
    anyone have any ideas for one?

5. Brat

Brat

Jun 4, 2004
    NW Indiana.
    Any price range? If your tight on $$bling$$, get something used rather than a new-but-cheap bass.

6. yyz

yyz

Aug 17, 2004
    Bumpass, Virginia
    Your best bet would probably be a Fender P Bass or some kind of Ibanez.

7. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    a new or used MIA (made in America) or MIJ (made in Japan) Precision Bass (also called a P bass) or a Jazz Bass (also called a J bass) are basses that you can hold on to forever. I'd have no problem gigging a new MIM (made in Mexico) Fender in a pinch... Guitar Center has these in Natural Ash that I'd consider getting for myself.

I've been pushing new players to the G&L Tribute line ... The L-2500 if'n a 5 string is something you want (yes, if you want to go deep... starting on a 5 string is fine)... or and L-2000 if'n you'll stay with a 4 string.

8. cking332

cking332

Aug 22, 2004
    ok thanx, i talked to my friend whos been playin for 4 years today and he said a good one to get for starting would be a fender squire, good choice or no? im tight on cash

9. radi8

radi8

Feb 10, 2004
    Chicago
    I have the G&L itch,too.