1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New to Linux LISTEN UP!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Fire-Starter, Oct 27, 2006.

1. Fire-Starter

Fire-Starter Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2002
    MINNESOTA
    Short but sweet, I am kind of new to Linux, but listen.....I have tried Redhat....Mandrake....Mandriva 2006...Mandriva 2007>>>full of bugs...and today UBUNTU......IT can run off the floppy!!!!!! but I installed it from there to the hard drive....IT FOUND THE DRIVERS FOR MY WIRELESS CARD....and installed it all by itself!!!!! this is by far the MOST simple install I have done using Linux/Unix....so if you are a newbee.....you may flip out of your seat at just how easy this is compared to the ones I mentioned, not to knock them, but it is what it is:cool: and so far..UBUNTU IS THE BOMB! just thought I would share!

2. Geoff St. Germaine

Geoff St. Germaine Commercial User

Ubuntu is pretty nice, but it still has a way to go as far as being user friendly enough for your average user. Trying to get WPA wireless encryption running is quite a chore, amongst a few other things. Still, I prefer it to Windows, but if I wasn't there to set everything up (along with some help from one of my Linux buddies) there would be no way my wife would be able to get it running everything she needs/wants. For instance, most people won't want to or may not have the know how to manually edit their xorg.conf file to get tv out working with their computer.

Ubuntu is a lot more user friendly than the first Linux distro I tried (Mandrake 6 or 7 I think).