Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New to Luthier - Have idea, need help

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Fong249, May 25, 2005.

1. Fong249

Fong249

May 25, 2005
    Washington, DC
    I'm brand new to luthier, I've read practically everything I can find on it in order to understand. Its about time that I sink my teeth into it so I can fully undestand the whole concept.

I've had this plan for the past couple of weeks, working on creating a four string, v shaped bass. I understand how to use a bandsaw, when I was younger my uncle and I built birdhouses, but I am fairly new to routing. Furthermore, I am confused on how I would drill a hole from the electronics and pots area to the pickup. Input jacks seem a little easier than this.

I intend to make this bass either natural color or black with a creme binding. I understand V's are uncomfortable play, I've already thought that through.

I need information on how to go about doing the Nut, and where I can get a neck. I'd rather not build the neck and fingerboard myself, seeing as I'd probably mess it up, though I really wish to get a taste of building bodies for solid body basses.

If possible, A little electronics/pups advice would be wonderful.
    Currently, i intend to use either a single musicman like pickup by Basslines, or two EMG 35 Soapbar shaped pickups with two volume pots (bridge and neck pups if EMG) and a 3 channel eq (3 knobs).

Thanks in advance!

2. bound

bound

Dec 28, 2003
    Jersey, Baby!