1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New to rack mount systems - bouncing ideas around

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by 2F/2F, Apr 26, 2018.

1. 2F/2F

2F/2F

May 26, 2009
    Los Angeles, CA
    Hi,

I am realizing that in order for my Ampeg PF-800 to be at its best for my purposes (loud, clean, and relatively bottom-mid heavy), I'm probably going to need to abandon the idea of keeping the head in one of the relatively measly Ampeg flip-top cabs. I also don't want to set the amp loose on top of a cab, so I was thinking of crafting a head cabinet for it. But it has occurred to me that I could use this opportunity to build myself a fairly modest rack assembly too.

I am totally new to rack mounting, but it seems like a good approach. I am thinking power conditioner, tuner, graphic e.q., and my amp. Do you think I'm I going overboard with any of this for a basic rack system, e.g. the power conditioner?

I assume the graphic e.q. would go into the effects loop of my amp. Is that correct?

I'm looking at a Korg Pitchblack rack tuner, a Furman M-8x2 power conditioner, and a dbx 131s e.q. (mono 31-band). That said, I don't know crap about any of that stuff; for example, is that even the right kind of e.q. to use in a musical instrument rack, or is it more of a P.A. thing.? Any help you could give would be most, er...helpful.

Thanks.

P.S. One more note: I would love to make the rack case myself, based on the modern Portaflex look, instead of getting one of those plastic ones.

Last edited: Apr 26, 2018

2. Many have found out the hard way (myself included) that if you aren’t careful, it’s easy for a rack to become a weight issue.