1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New to recording. Trying to layer multiple tracks, all played by me. Doing it right?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Noshtero, Apr 7, 2009.

1. Noshtero

Noshtero Supporting Member

Dec 2, 2007
    Chicago, IL
    I'm very new to recording. Basically, what I've been doing so far is running my entire signal chain into a Zoom B2.1U, and then running the USB from that into my laptop.

I use the Zoom because I have no other means of doing drum tracks. So I record a few minutes of a drum track going. Then I play that back from my laptop, and record a bass line. Then I play back both of those, and record something else. On and on for 4-5 tracks.

Is that the best way to do it? I thought about getting a loop station of some sort, but then everything would end up being a single track on the laptop and I couldn't adjust anything.

2. msiner

msiner

Sep 2, 2008
    Tucson, AZ
    Sounds like your going down the right path. The only thing you might have to watch out for is latency. That is, when you play the previous part back to record a new part, there is signal latency that can cause the final product to sound just a little off beat. Any decent recording software should allow you to do simple time shifts to compensate if you do hear an irregularity. By the way, what software are you using to record? Audacity is a great free application and the Sony ACID Music Studio is pretty good for recording and comes with samples you can use so you don't actually have to record a drum loop.

3. Noshtero

Dec 2, 2007
    Chicago, IL
    I would love to be rid of the zoom drum loops. It's tough when I get like 40 beat choices, no fills, no frills.