Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New to Talkbass...here's my sample

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by lowendforlife, Sep 23, 2005.

1. Hi all...I'm new to Talkbass...I'm 17 years old and live in the Tampa bay area. Here's a sample of a group I played in with 4 other guys my age at Berklee this summer. It's recorded on my Kohr carved upright with a blend of DI signal from a Realist and a mic placed about 10 inches away from the tob of the treble-side F-hole. I don't solo or anything, but this should give you a feel for my walking, interplay, etc. Unfortunately, the original file is too big so I had to use a low quality streaming-audio recorder to rip a very small clip of it. I'll post more small clips to give you a bigger picture...Looking forward to being a part of the TB forums :)

2. Pcocobass

Pcocobass

Jun 16, 2005
    New York
    Hey man,

Welcome to TB. I'm listening at work through crappy little speakers so I can't really hear the bass. What I did hear sounds good!

I'll check it out again later....

3. Steve Bassman

Steve Bassman Supporting Member

Dec 3, 2003
    Tampa Bay, FL
    I found it hard to hear the bass on that stream too, but I've heard Billy in person and he's a fine player. I wish I had that much together when I was his age (twenty years ago :crying: ). Welcome to Talkbass, Billy and congrats on landing a spot in the Clearwater Jazz Holiday. Will you be playing bass with your group or that other six string-type instrument you've been known to play? :bassist:

- Steve

My web page

4. Hey Steve...thanks for the kind words...you're a fine player yourself! As for Clearwater Jazz, I'll be staying true to myself and holding down the low end...The other three cats in the band are RIDICULOUS young musicians from all over the country. I'm definitely looking forward to it. Hope to see you there!

5. Pcocobass

Pcocobass