New to the world of Mike Watt...

Discussion in 'Ask Mike Watt [Archived]' started by nasonm, Apr 9, 2004.

1. nasonm

Jan 28, 2004
    Bangor, ME
    I'm fairly new to the world of Mike Watt. I remember hearing Ball-Hog or Tugboat a while back, but at that time all I knew were the artists that guested on the album.

My first introduction to your work was in a book I read 2 years ago called "Our Band Could Be Your Life". It had a chapter on the Minutemen.

Then I watched the Bass documentary "Rising Low" and all I could think was "who the heck it the bearded guy talking about his Flipper technique????"

But now I've started digging, reading and listening and I have to say I'm impressed. No big surprise there (not trying to stroke your ego). My musical tastes range from Chet Atkins to Bob Mould to Yo Yo Ma, so I'm always looking to experince something new (well new to me at least).

I'm back with Bass after a 7 year hiatus, and loving every minute of it. I just wanted to share my newfound appreciation for you & your music.

Take Care,

Mark Nason
    Bangor, ME
  2. watt

watt TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

thank you much. like orson wells said, "no wine before its time."

on bass, watt

3. Run, dont walk and buy, minutemen's Double Nickel on the dime... to me that's one of the best albums ever!!!

4. watt

watt TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

thanks. that's one of my favorite records I ever played on. first one I played mostly w/my fingers (only one tune had me using a pick) though that's not why I like it. it's got a trippy flow and d. boon/george hurley played like they were on fire.

on bass, watt

5. dunivan

Jul 3, 2003
    Ft. Myers, FL
    endorsing artist: knucklehead strings
    when didnt d.boon play like he was on fire....

great guy...wish i been around for that time in music...then into sublime in time...

u really doin a cover for that tribute album?
  6. Groovyloser

Sep 27, 2001
    Hey mark,