New to UB, Differences in Engelhardt models?

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by Subway, Nov 8, 2008.

1. Subway

Subway

Nov 8, 2008
    I've been into rockabilly and psychobilly for a while now, and sense I started playing electric I've wanted an upright. I've done a little bit of research, and from what I've read and been told the Engelhardt line of basses seems to fit my bill as well as the sound I'm looking for, but I'm a bit confused on which model to get. Could someone give me a brief description on the differences between a few of the models? Sounds? Duribility? Best Value? and the like. Thanks folks.

2. Gearhead43

Gearhead43

Nov 25, 2007
    NorCal
    There is little to no difference in sound between the models (with a good setup) , but the more expensive models have flamed maple on the back and sides and ebony fittings (fingerboard and tailpiece).

The lower priced models have plainer woods and use Brazilian Cherry for the fingerboard, which is not quite as hard as ebony. This may mean needing the fingerboard planed sooner. We're talking many years of use though depending on the strings you use and how much you play.

IMO, any of the models would be a good choice for Rockabilly music, but be sure to have a good setup done on the bass to maximize playability and sound. It is always a good idea to play some basses before you buy if possible.

If you decide to order an Engelhardt, I recommend Jerry Fretwell (www.fretwellbass.com) because he is great to deal with, and your choice of strings and a good setup is included in his price.

3. yep, really happy with my engel from Fretwell.

Johnny

4. Subway

Subway

Nov 8, 2008