Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Upright Player: Engelhardt vs. Strunal

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by cephas45, Jun 16, 2001.

1. Hello, I've been playing electric for about 15 years or so, I started with the double bass back when I was in middle school or so, but haven't touched it since because I never looked into buying one. Well, the time has come. I'm looking for a plywood instrument with an ebony fingerboard, bridge adjusters, etc in the price range of $1000-$2000. I've narrowed it down to either the Strunal basses for sale on stringbass.com or the engelhardts. Does anyone have any experience with either of these who can offer a compare/contrast? Should I look for a used one or order it off of a site? Thanks in advance - soon to join the domain of real bass players =)

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I've read posts - possibly even whole threads - about both. Try using the search feature, limiting the search to the DB forums. One search for each should get you some results until someone who actually owns either of those basses checks in.

3. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA
    I bought a Strunal 50/4 (all laminated, ebony fittings) from Stringbass.com less than 6 months ago. I'm pretty happy with the service I got, and I'm happy with the bass. Keep in mind, it'll need some work to make it the best it can be, but it was decent right from the crate. Stringbass.com will even tell you that. Like Chris said, this has been covered before here, so if you'd like to hear more about my experience, email me off list.