Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New volume pots have limited function... strange.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Bassist4Life, Oct 10, 2005.

1. Bassist4Life

Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY
    I have one volume for my P-pup and one volume for my J-pup. I have one tone knob. The electronics are passive.

Background:
    This an old beater bass I have from back in the day. It's an Aria Pro II. It looks like it has been through a war. It still plays and sounds pretty good. I decided to use it as a project bass.

It used to have an active EQ (w/passive pups). I decided to remove all of the active components and go strictly passive. I got 2 new 500k volume pots and I used the old 500k tone pot. I am new to wiring, so I decided to keep things really simple.

Everything works; however, the volume pots don't really kick in until I turn them up about 80%.

Also, when I turn the volume knobs all the way down, a little volume still comes through. Is this normal?

Any thoughts? What did I mess up this time? :D

Joe

2. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Sounds like you bought linear taper pots for your volume controls. Get some audio taper and you'll get a more useful range out of them.

As to the volume not dropping completely, I'd have to see how you have them wired.

3. yup what he said.

Remember how we're always saying doubling watts only adds 3dB? So going up in 3dB increments labelled 1-10 you'd see 1w 2w 4w 8w 16w 32w 64w 128w 256w 512w .

The volume control has to reflect that to make the volume seem to go up smoothly as the knob is turned. Instead of going up linearly (1/4=25% of incoming signal, 1/2 way = 50%), it increases volume in a logarithmic manner, sort of like the wattage curve above.

Randy

4. Bassist4Life

Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY