New with bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by brandon6295, Jan 7, 2001.

1. brandon6295

Jan 7, 2001
    i have been playing regular guitar for about 3 years now and i recently got a bass. im not takin lessons or anything but i need to learn some more of the basics like slaps and stuff. can anyone help me or anything?
  2. First of all, some technique. The most common style of playing that works with most variety is playing with your fingers. Keep in mind that everyone has their own style, but here's how I like to play: I rest my (right) thumb on my lowest string. (when not playing the lowest string) I pluck the string towards me and finish the stroke resting in on the string lower than it.

example- When playing the A-string, I finish with my finger on the E string.

For most material, I use my index, middle, and ring finger in a pattern of ring, middle, index, ring, middle...etc, with variations for what I'm playing. For doing some material, I use an index, middle, index...etc technique, such as notes in sets of two.

Slap is another (requested) playing technique. I'm no slap genious, but I'll contribute what I know. It involves making a fist with your thumb extended, and hitting the string, but letting it bounce off. To pop, which goes hand-in-hand with slapping, simply pull up on the string with your finger (any will do), and letting it slam down and hit the frets.

On another topic, I sugest that you learn how to read music in the bass clef, and relate it to the notes on the fingerboard. A superb tutorial is available at This will open you to a whole lot of new music, better music writing, better timing comprehension, and access to music theory.

Music theory is a general term, which is a bit tough to explain. It helps you write music, usually using scales, or sets of notes. I think I'll leave this section open to the experts in this area.