1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New York City Lessons June 4 to 10, 2011

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by PRUNEFACE, May 12, 2011.

1. Do you have any recommendations for an excellent teacher/experienced musician to get some lessons from? I plan on seeing the New York Phil. on Saturday (the 4th I believe) and Jim Hall and Ron Carter at the Blue Note on the Monday following (the 6th). How accesible is Ron Carter with regards to giving lessons* to a less experienced (I've only gigged out once and it was a disaster as you all remember... I jam every week with a guitar player on jazz standards so I am not a jazz beginner, but I am no world-wearied jazz musician) bassist?
    Am open to any suggestions!

*I would notify them in advance... It would NOT be spur of the moment, showing-up-at-the-doorstep-asking-for-a-lesson.

Also need to rent or borrow a bass in NYC... Will probably be contacting Gage, but let me know if you have any leads there, too.

2. massimo

massimo

Jul 29, 2006
    Paris (France)
    About renting you can also ask to Geoff of the Bass Garden in Yonkers, very reasonable price and well set up basses. Every time i'm in NYC i have one of his basses (just call in advance to be sure he has something disponible)

3. Free Wood

Free Wood

Jul 12, 2010
    Try to get in contact with Garry Dial, he's a pianist, but he teaches theory and improvisation at Manhattan School of Music. He can definitely give you some stuff to work on and give you lots of motivation. In my personal experience I've found it is best to take "jazz" or improvisation lessons from someone who isn't a bass player.

4. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg Supporting Member

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago