1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newb bass amp Q's from a guitarist

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tonegasm, Mar 23, 2010.

1. Tonegasm

Tonegasm

Mar 22, 2010
    NJ
    Hey everyone. I'm a guitarist and new here. I'm going to be taking up the bass guitar position in a new project I'm in and I don't know much about bass amps. The group will be playing mainly medium-sized clubs and some will not have a PA capable of producing an acceptable direct-out bass sound (small PA speakers).

I'm looking for suggestions for a portable bass amp that can handle this task which while not breaking the bank. I'm partial to Fender basses, so I'll mostly likely be using a P or a J bass and the music will be rock/alternative rock.

Thanks much!

2. EricF

EricF Habitual User

Sep 26, 2005
    Pasadena, CA
    Generally speaking, you'll probably need something along the lines of a 300W (or larger) amp and a 410 (or larger) cab. A small combo will most likely not be sufficient for the kind of music and venues you're talking about.

3. Double Agent

Double Agent Supporting Member

Mar 10, 2006
    Lakeland, FL
    I humbly suggest that you consider the Gallien-Krueger MB212 combo. 500 watts into 2 12" speakers and it weighs under 40 lbs. Costs about $700 new. They are hard to find as they just came out and are pretty popular because of the cost/weight-to-power ratio. But it would be worth the effort to track one down IMO. You'll have a VERY hard time getting that much power in such an affordable and portable package anywhere else.

4. Tonegasm

Tonegasm

Mar 22, 2010
    NJ
    Wow, that looks like the answer right there! They look fairly new, so finding one used will probably be pretty difficult.

Thanks very much for the suggestions. I would love to hear more!

5. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville